Citrus League Trophy



The Citrus League is one of five Southwest Division Leagues that compete to determine the Division's League Champions. The Club that wins the Citrus League will send two three-person teams to compete for the Waterbury Trophy in the Fall of the year. Carl Waterbury provided the initial financial support and its perpetual trophy in 1983. Learn more about the Waterbury in the Men's Division Blue Book.

For the 2011 competition, representatives from each club (Hemet, Redlands, Riverside, and Sun City) were invited to a meeting at Noon Tuesday November 30, 2010, in Riverside to fine-tune the rules and conditions of play. Historically, clubs entered as many teams as they wished. If there are enough teams, the League may have A and B Flights, where the A Flight determines the team to go to the Waterbury Tournament and the B Flight is a “developmental experience” for bowlers who are relatively new.

Citrus League has been played on Thursdays for more than fifteen years. The current practice is that each triples team plays a 14 end game against one team in the morning, has lunch, and then plays 12 ends against a different team in the afternoon. Normally the league begins near the end of January and concludes in early April. Recent years have been in a double round robin format. The venue changes regularly. It is very prestigious for a Club to win its League.

Effective in 2011, Pomona is a member of the Central District and will no longer compete in Citrus League.

Redlands is the 2010 and 2011 Citrus League champion.

The five Leagues are:

Citrus - Hemet, Redlands, Riverside and Sun City
Central - Alhambra, Friendly Valley, Pasadena, Santa Anita, Beverly Hills, Hermosa Beach, Pomona, Santa Monica and Holmby
Coast - Laguna Beach, Santa Ana, Newport Harbor, Long Beach and Laguna Woods
North - Santa Barbara, Oxnard, MacKenzie Park, Santa Maria and Cambria
South - San Diego, Oaks North and Lake Hodges