Citrus League Trophy


The Citrus League is one of five Southwest Division leagues that compete to determine the Division's Champion. The club that wins the Citrus League sends a sia-person team to compete for the Waterbury All-League Championship trophy. Carl Waterbury provided the initial financial support and a perpetual trophy in 1983. Learn more about the Waterbury in the Men's Division Blue Book.

For the 2012 competition, representatives from each club (Hemet, Redlands, Riverside, and Sun City) were invited to meet at noon Friday November 25, 2011, in Riverside to discuss the upcoming season. They met again on January 13, 2012 to finalize plans for the season. Teams and players for the 2012 season can be found in the People link at left. Historically, clubs entered as many teams as they wished. If there are enough teams, the League may have A and B Flights, where the A Flight determines the team to go to the Waterbury Tournament and the B Flight is a “developmental experience” for bowlers who are relatively new.

Citrus League has been played on Thursdays for more than fifteen years. The current practice is that each triples team plays a 14-end game against one team in the morning, has lunch, and then plays 12 ends against a different team in the afternoon. Normally the league begins near the end of January and concludes in early April. Recent years have been in a double round robin format (i.e., each team plays each other team twice). The venue changes regularly. It is very prestigious for a club to win its league.

The five Leagues are:

Central - Alhambra*, Friendly Valley, Pasadena, Santa Anita, Beverly Hills, Hermosa Beach, Pomona, Santa Monica and Holmby
Citrus - Hemet, Redlands, Riverside and Sun City*
Coast - Laguna Beach, Santa Ana, Newport Harbor*, Long Beach and Laguna Woods
North - Santa Barbara, Oxnard, MacKenzie Park*, Santa Maria and Cambria
South - San Diego*, Oaks North and Lake Hodges
  * 2012 league champions
  Newport Harbor won the Waterbury competition at Laguna Woods on October 20, 2012
Alhambra was 2nd and San Diego was 3rd