Citrus League Trophy

Bowls USA

The Citrus League is one of five Southwest Division leagues that compete to determine the Division's Champion. The club that wins the Citrus League (Riverside in 2014) sends two three-person teams to compete for the Waterbury All-League Championship trophy (Laguna Woods October 25, 2014). Carl Waterbury provided the initial financial support and a perpetual trophy in 1983. Learn more about the Waterbury in the Men's Division Blue Book.

For the 2014 competition, representatives from each club (Hemet, Redlands, Riverside, and Sun City) met on Tuesday October 29, 2013, in Riverside to discuss the upcoming season. They met again on January 9th to finalize plans. Teams and players for the 2014 season are listed in the People link at left. Historically, clubs entered as many teams as they wished. If enough teams played, the League had A and B Flights, where the A Flight determined the Waterbury Tournament team. The B Flight allowed a “developmental experience” for bowlers who are relatively new. In recent years, A and B Flights have not been used.

Citrus League has been played on Thursdays for many years. The current practice is that each triples team plays a 14-end game against one team in the morning, has lunch, and then plays 12 ends against a different team in the afternoon. Normally the league begins near the end of January and concludes in early April. Recent years have been in a double round robin format (i.e., each team plays each other team twice). The venue changes regularly. It is very prestigious for a club to win its league.

Congratulations to the Riverside team of Jim Popevis, Mike Bright
and Kevon Jones for winning the league in 2014. Second place
went to the Hemet team of Paula Bellone, Jo Ann LaFrenais and
Ann Cantu. Third place went to the Sun City team of Patrick Collins,
Gail Hodgson and Christine Collins. Sun City's Bob Birkinshaw,
Alice Birkinshaw and Joe Rahm took fourth. A tie for fifth was won
by Sun City's Tony Head, Linda Blanche and Jim Semanek in a
one-end rolloff over Riverside's Larry Mumma, Jo Mumma
and Shareen Green.

The five Leagues are:

Central - Alhambra, Friendly Valley, Pasadena, Santa Anita*, Beverly Hills, Hermosa Beach, Pomona, Santa Monica and Holmby
Citrus - Hemet, Redlands, Riverside* and Sun City
Coast - Laguna Beach*, Santa Ana, Newport Harbor, Long Beach and Laguna Woods
North - Santa Barbara, Oxnard, MacKenzie Park*, Santa Maria and Cambria
South - Coronado*, Lake Hodges, Oaks North and San Diego
  * 2014 league champions
  Coronado won the Waterbury competition at Laguna Woods on October 25, 2014
Laguna Beach was 2nd and MacKenzie Park was 3rd