Citrus League Trophy

Bowls USA

The Citrus League is one of five Southwest Division leagues that compete to determine the Division's Champion. The club that wins the Citrus League will send two three-person teams to compete for the Waterbury All-League Championship trophy at Laguna Woods on October 31st. Carl Waterbury provided the initial financial support and a perpetual trophy in 1983. Learn more about the Waterbury on this Southwest Division page..

For the 2015 competition, representatives from each club (Hemet, Redlands, Riverside, and Sun City) met on Monday November 10, 2014, in Hemet to discuss the upcoming season. They met again on January 8, 2015, to finalize plans and establish the schedule. Teams and players for the 2015 season are listed in the People link at left. Historically, clubs entered as many teams as they wished. If enough teams played, the League had A and B Flights, where the A Flight determined the Waterbury Tournament team. The B Flight allowed a “developmental experience” for bowlers who are relatively new. In recent years, A and B Flights have not been used.

Citrus League has been played on Thursdays for many years. The current practice is that each triples team plays a 14-end game against one team in the morning, has lunch, and then plays 12 ends against a different team in the afternoon. Normally the league begins near the end of January and concludes in early April. Recent years have been in a double round robin format (i.e., each team plays each other team twice). The venue changes regularly. It is very prestigious for a club to win its league.

Congratulations to the Sun City team of Bob Birkinshaw, Dee McSparran and Alice Birkinshaw for winning the league in 2015. Second place
went to the Sun City team of Tony Head, Jim Semanek and Brenda Head. Third place went to the Hemet team of Paula Bellone, Ann Cantu and Gary Johnston.

The five Leagues are:

Citrus - Hemet, Redlands, Riverside and Sun City*
Coast - Laguna Beach*, Santa Ana, Newport Harbor, Long Beach and Laguna Woods
Gold Coast - Santa Barbara, Oxnard-Joslyn*, MacKenzie Park, Santa Maria and Cambria
South - Coronado, Lake Hodges, Oaks North* and San Diego
Valley - Alhambra*, Friendly Valley, Pasadena, Pomona and Santa Anita
  *2015 league champions
  Laguna Beach won the Waterbury event at Laguna Woods on October 31, 2015
Alhambra was 2nd and Sun City was 3rd