Citrus League Trophy

Bowls USA

The Citrus League is one of five Southwest Division leagues that compete to determine the Division's Champion. The club that wins the Citrus League will send two three-person teams to compete for the Waterbury All-League Championship trophy at (TBD) on November 17, 2018. Carl Waterbury provided the initial financial support and a perpetual trophy in 1983. Learn more about the Waterbury on this Southwest Division page..

For the 2018 competition, representatives from each club (Hemet, Pomona, Redlands, Riverside, and Sun City) met on Tuesday November 28,2017 in Riverside to discuss the upcoming season and on January 9th to finalize planning. Historically, clubs entered as many teams as they wished. If enough teams played, the League had A and B Flights, where the A Flight determined the Waterbury Tournament team. The B Flight allowed a “developmental experience” for bowlers who are relatively new. In recent years, A and B Flights have not been used.

Citrus League has been played on Thursdays for many years. The current practice is that each triples team plays a 14-end game against one team in the morning, has lunch, and then plays 12 ends against a different team in the afternoon. Normally the league begins near the end of January and concludes in early April. Recent years have been in a double round robin format (i.e., each team plays each other team twice). It is very prestigious for a club to win its league.

Congratulations to the Sun City team of Dave Rahm, Glenn Daugherty
and Verna Wallace for winning the league in 2017.
Second place went to the Pomona team of
Kelly Warren, Don Russell and Dennis Henely.
Third place was won by the Hemet team of
Paula Bellone, Barbara Sweeny and Linda Cullup.

The five Leagues are:

Citrus - Hemet, Pomona (effective 2016), Redlands, Riverside and Sun City
Coast - Casta del Sol, Laguna Beach, Laguna Woods, Long Beach, Newport Harbor, Santa Ana and The Groves
Gold Coast - Cambria, MacKenzie Park, Oxnard-Joslyn and Santa Barbara
South - Coronado, Lake Hodges, Oaks North and San Diego
Valley - Alhambra, Friendly Valley, Pasadena and Santa Anita
  *2017 league champions
  Alhambra won the 2017 Waterbury event at Long Beach on November 4th
Oaks North was 2nd and Laguna Beach was 3rd